MACST Awards Ten Collegiate Scholarships

The Mifflinburg Area Community Scholarship Trust awarded ten $1,500 scholarships to previous graduates of the Mifflinburg Area School District who are currently attending college. These scholarships are in addition to the graduating high school senior scholarships totaling $43,000. The candidates had to complete at least one year of college with a GPA greater than 3.0. They also had to have at least one semester of college and/or graduate school remaining before they earn their degree.

This year’s scholarship winners are as follows: Representing the Mifflinburg Class of 2014 is Katherine Sullivan who is attending Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine. Katelyn Sheesley is enrolled at Widener University and graduated from Mifflinburg in 2015. Three members from the Class of 2017 received scholarships. They are Grace Alexander and Caroline Benfer, both attending Juniata College and Andrew Cooney matriculating at Susquehanna University. Five 2018 graduates were awarded scholarships. They are Tyler Bailey – Bloomsburg University, Nolan Beck – DeSales University, Zane Patterson – Bucknell University, Melanie Rakerd – Messiah University, and Colette Southerton – Misericordia University.

The majors of our graduates included Accounting, Biomedical Engineering, Digital Forensics, Environmental Science, Medical Imaging, Nursing, Pre-K and Special Education, and Veterinary Medicine.